Two Lines of the Book of the Dead

by

Edouard Naville

[Extracted from Zeitschrift für Sprache und Aegyptische Alterthumskunde, (May-June 1874), p. 58-60.
Translated into Eng. by Google from the original French.]


In his great work on the oldest texts of the Book of the Dead, Mr. Professor Lepsius, commenting on the 2nd line of c. 17, says (p. 47), speaking of the kingdom of Ra and the following words [glyphs]: "Es scheint dass hier von dem Erwachen, der Gestaltung des Chaos, von der Scheidung in Himmel und Erde und der Entstehung des Firmaments wie in der Genesis die Rede ist."

The passage from the Book of the Dead, which Mr. Lepsius gave this interpretation, is of great importance for the knowledge of the Egyptian cosmogony. There is, indeed, here a variant that is found in all the papyri of the Theban dynasties I'm looking at which significantly change the meaning of the sentence and gives the idea much greater precision. According to the ancient texts of the Theban period, the royalty of Ra is first in the sky; there would come a time when the sky does not exist, where heaven and earth were combined, and where the height of Amsesennu of Ra had elements and assigned their roles. To better understand the importance of these variants I will take as a base, not the Turin Papyrus, but an ancient text, the papyrus of Nebseni. I already know the readers of the Zeitschrift (1873, p. 26) and I will refer to the letter A. Then I will support other contemporaries at my disposal and I will refer to the following texts:

B. pap. of [glyphs] Museum of London.
C. pap. of [glyphs] Museum of London (see Zeitschr. 1873. p. 26).
D. pap. of [glyphs] Berlin.
E. Tomb [glyphs] Leps. Denk. III. 38.

The four papyri are hieroglyphic papyri, a writing very similar to that of the tomb, and all four are of the Theban period; one of them, that of Hunefer, provides irrefutable evidence because the deceased was a steward of Seti Ist. There is no need to include the sarcophagus of Mentuhotep and Sebekaa, published by Mr. Lepsius, because they omit most of this sentence. Here is the text of the first two [p.58] lines of c. 17, according to the Nebseni papyrus. Remember what I said earlier about this document; that there is no special sign for negation, written [glyphs] or [glyphs].

[Glyphs]
I am Tmu, the unique, Nun Ra with his crown when he began to exercise his sovereignty. What does that Ra when he began to exercise his sovereignty is when Ra began to appear in the kingdom he held when there were points of firmament and he was on the height when placed Amsesennu Renen the son of (?) on Amsesennu.

In French: I am Tmu, when the single, I am Nun, I am Ra wearing his tiara at the beginning of the sovereignty it has exercised. What is this, Ra at the beginning of the sovereignty he held? Ra is first appearing in his kingdom, when there was as yet no firmament, and it was the height of Amsesennu when Renen placed the son of (?) in the height of Amsesennu.

[glyphs] Alone with the sarcophagi to have this form of the pronoun, which even in the papyrus is special to c. 17, as also found mainly in the form [glyphs]. This spelling was happening in later documents, because I found it in the hieratic papyrus [glyphs] of the Berlin Museum, but only in the first chapter.

All papyri and sarcophagi instead of [glyphs] when is the sole, the pronoun [glyphs] or something similar, and B. [glyphs] I Tmu, as only myself. C. [Glyphs] when, or because I'm single. Despite the difference of the pronoun, the idea remains the same. Tmu is to be unique, which includes everything in it, which is the origin of all things. This assimilation of Tmu is found to be universal, while the Grand will be established, based on texts that I can not mention here, in my work on the litany of the sun.

B. [Glyphs] Take the word [glyphs] as it is in these three texts, without the determinative feature; this word is likely mixed. [Glyphs] means shining like the sun, to be bright, and the examples are so numerous that it is unnecessary to mention all of them. It means shining as a beautifully coated dress shines, or wearing a sparkling crown. The texts of Abydos we can rightly call the Ritual frequently use it in the same way; it means appear as the god who is out of his donkey sanctuary on the feast day. Finally, it means appear as a king, shining like wearing the royal crown, come to the throne. [Glyphs] "The first-year of [p.59] my reign, I ordered ... etc.. " says Ramses II (Abd. I. p. 49). But as there could be doubt about the meaning of the word [glyphs] it is natural that commentators have added their explanation in the second phrase: Ra in his appearance ... it is Ra when it appears as king; Ra at his coming. The answer to the question limits the meaning of the word in the sense of rule, or accession to the throne. In the papyrus Nebseni explanation was less necessary as we read [glyphs]. This word, a variant of [glyphs], means the crown coated with the uraeus, the royal crown, the diadem.

What initially Ra ... Ra is in its appearance as king at the beginning of his reign. Here, the Theban papyrus are unanimous, as well as those I quote, and those Mr. Lepsius (p. 47) speaks of. All are [glyphs] (C) [glyphs] (D) with small variations or graphics. None mention Heracleopolis which appears only in the later texts, especially hieratic. We must therefore believe an error induced by the ignorant copyist for the word [glyphs], or those less qualified tend to write [glyphs], and that this fault will be transmitted since it is in most copies of the text. This proves that when the Turin Papyrus and hieratic papyrus were written the understanding of the text had already been largely lost, since it could pass on a fault so deeply in the general sense of the sentence. But here's the most important variant, and I quote all the texts for clarity.

A. [Glyphs]
B. [Glyphs]
C. [Glyphs]
D. [Glyphs]
E. [Glyphs]

The texts are categorical. Except C. I explain the fault below. All have, When there were no Setes Su, or when there was no firmament. Here the Turin Papyrus is only at fault; the hieratic texts I collated, including two in London, one in Berlin and one of Leiden, are all negations [glyphs] that the Turin Papyrus has forgotten.

When there was no firmament; this implies that when Ra began to reign heaven and earth were still confused, a mass only, the Nun. Ra authorizing this chaos travelled much in the upper regions of the sky, but stood on the height of Amsesennu. This requires that subsequent to the appearance of Ra as king there had been a lifting in the firmament, of separation of heaven and earth. This simple variant of the Book of the Dead teaches us that the Egyptians had what we call it chaos; that is to say a shapeless mass of water (the Nun) where heaven and earth were not separated or covered yet. It is at this moment of world history they placed the reign of Ra.

Coming back to the text of C [glyphs], etc. This variant can also be read in the hieratic papyrus of Berlin that I quoted above, and is an easily explicable fault. [Glyphs] is indeed one of the names of the capital of the nome Hermopolitain of [p.60] the city [glyphs]. The scribe, who saw the few words, that it was the city of Hermopolis [glyphs], later replaced the verb to be [glyphs] by the name of [glyphs], a similar pronunciation, which is the name of the same city. The general meaning of the sentence does not change the rest.*

I will continue with reading A. [glyphs] which is obviously a transposition of the pronoun [glyphs] that is in no other text.

[glyphs]. In texts other than Nebseni the word would mean the god Amsesennu, but, as I indicated elsewhere (Zeitschr. 1873 p. 26), the determinative [glyph] is used in this papyrus with such a profusion that it is impossible to conclude that its presence is a divine personage. As noted by Lepsius, the preposition [glyphs] is part of the name of the locality.

About the next version, I quote again from all texts:

A. [Glyphs]
B. [Glyphs]
C. [Glyphs]
D. [Glyphs]
E. [Glyphs]

The two Theban papyri Mr. Lepsius mentioned in the note also give similar variations. Nowhere do we find in the ancient texts the word [glyphs] destroy: it is a different act. I do not insist on the variant [glyphs] (A). This place in the papyrus Nebseni is a bit bad and I'm not completely sure of the word. The translation of this sentence would be next B, C, and D when placed on the animals measured height Amsesennu and following E. when he placed the animals measured as gods, as gods on Amsesennu.

Both lessons have many unconnected, because someone put [glyphs], as the Book of the Dead mentions, also gives to be [glyphs] (85 10.) and not to destroy, but rather make it a god. The general meaning would be: when did the beasts Mesu gods Amsesennu. But that's what. [Glyphs]. I do not think we should take [glyphs] in the strict sense of son, I think we can hear in one direction appears as Hebrew בן in expression בן חיל son of war to belligerent man. Mesu beasts "the son of impotence" are inert, impotent by excellence. In fact, the original meaning of [glyphs], become impotent, be helpless, paralyzed, as a man plagued with terror (see Brugsch dict. p. 446.). Ra is powerless over the gods of Amsesennu, here is what leads us to a philological analysis. If allowed to go a bit in the interpretation of Egyptian symbolism, I will say that Sesennu, 8 [p.61] gods, following Mr. Lepsius; 8 elements make impotent gods; Amsesennu is born to these eight deities; is to change an inert and powerless in eight gods; matter is to distinguish the 8 elements, until then had no energy or activity, because they were part of chaos.

We found the existence established by the foregoing. Hopefully these two examples, and especially the first, have emphasized the interest that often a simple variant has. If we ever want to get a little closer to exact knowledge of Egyptian mythology, it is in the ancient texts of the Book of the Dead.

Geneva, 25. May 1874.

Edouard Naville.

______________________

* Despite the great beauty of the writing and vignettes, the papyrus Hunefer should be used with caution, especially as we approach the end. We find curious variants like this: [glyphs] to [glyphs]. The petrefsu is written: [glyphs].

Deux lignes du Livre des morts

par

Edouard Naville

[Extracted from Zeitschrift für Aegyptische Sprache und Alterthumskunde, (May-June 1874), pp. 57-60. See Eng. trans.]


Dans son beau travail sur les plus anciens textes du Livre des morts, Mr. le professeur Lepsius, commentant la 2de ligne du ch. 17, nous dit (p. 47) en parlant de la royauté de Ra et des mots [glyphs] qui suivent: "Es scheint dass hier von dem Erwachen, der Gestaltung des Chaos, von der Scheidung in Himmel und Erde und der Entstehung des Firmaments wie in der Genesis die Rede ist."

Le passage du Livre des morts, auquel Mr. Lepsius a donne cette Interprétation, a une grande importance pour la connaissance de la cosmogonie égyptienne. Il y a en effet à cet endroit une variante qui se trouve dans tous les papyrus des dynasties thébaines que j'ai sous les yeux, qui change notablement le sens de la phrase et qui donne à l'idée une précision beaucoup plus grande. D'après les textes anciens de l'époque thébaine, la royauté de Ra serait antérieure au firmament, il y aurait eu un moment où le firmament n'existait pas, où ciel et terre étaient confondus, et où de la hauteur d'Amsesennu Ra disposait les éléments et leur assignait leurs rôles. Afin de mieux faire comprendre l'importance de ces variantes, je prendrai pour base, non point le papyrus de Turin, mais un texte ancien, celui du papyrus de Nebseni que j'ai déjà fait connaitre aux lecteurs de la Zeitschrift (An. 1873, p. 26) et que je désignerai par la lettre A. Je m'appuierai ensuite des autres textes contemporains que j'ai à ma disposition et que je désignerai comme suit:

B. pap. de [glyphs] musée de Londres.
C. pap. de [glyphs] musée de Londres (cf. Zeitschr. 1873. p. 26).
D. pap. de [glyphs] de Berlin.
E. tombeau de [glyphs] Leps. Denk. III. 38.

Les quatre papyrus sont des papyrus hiéroglyphiques, d'une écriture très-semblable à celle du tombeau, et tous quatre de l'époque thébaine, ce dont celui de Hunefer nous fournit une preuve irrécusable puisque le défunt était intendant de Seti Ier. Il n'y a pas lieu à citer les sarcophages de Mentuhotep et de Sebekaa qu'a publies Mr. Lepsius, car ils omettent la plus grande partie de cette phrase. Voici donc le texte des deux pre- [p.58] mières lignes du ch. 17, d'après le papyrus de Nebseni. Je rappelle ce que j'ai dit précédemment au sujet de ce document; c'est qu'il n'y a pas de signe spécial pour la négation qui est écrite [glyphs] ou [glyphs].

[glyphs]
Je suis Tmu lorsqu'il est l'unique, Nun, Ra avec son diadème, lorsqu'il commença la souveraineté qu'il a exercée. qu'est ce que cela Ra lorsqu'il commença la souveraineté qu'il a exercée, c'est lorsque Ra commença a apparaitre dans la royauté qu'il a exercée, lorsque point n'existait de firmament et qu'il était sur la hauteur d'Amsesennu lorsqu'il plaça le fils de Renen (?) sur Amsesennu.

En français: Je suis Tmu, lorsqu'il est l'unique; je suis Nun, je suis Ra portant son diadème au commencement de la souveraineté qu'il a exercée. Qu'est-ce que cela, Ra au commencement de la souveraineté qu'il a exercée? C'est Ra apparaissant d'abord dans sa royauté, lorsqu'il n'y avait point encore de firmament, et qu'il était sur la hauteur d'Amsesennu, lorsqu'il plaça le fils de Renen (?) sur la hauteur d'Amsesennu.

[glyphs] A est seul avec les sarcophages à avoir cette forme du pronom, qui même dans le papyrus est spéciale au ch. 17; car ailleurs on trouve surtout la forme [glyphs]. Cette orthographe a passe dans des documents postérieurs, car je l'ai retrouvée dans le papyrus hiératique de [glyphs] musée de Berlin, mais seulement dans le 1er chapitre.

Tous les papyrus et les sarcophages ont au lieu de [glyphs] lorsqu'il est l'unique, le pronom [glyphs] ou quelque chose d'analogue; ainsi B. [glyphs] je suis Tmu, comme étant l'unique moi-même. C. [glyphs] lorsque, ou parce que je suis l'unique. Malgré la différence du pronom, l'idée reste la même, Tmu est l'être unique, qui comprend tout en lui, et qui est l'origine de toutes choses. Cette assimilation de Tmu à l'être universel, au Grand tout, sera établie, d'après des textes que je ne puis citer ici, dans mon travail sur la litanie du soleil.

B. [glyphs] Prenons le mot [glyphs] comme il est dans ces trois textes, sans déterminatif caractéristique, ce mot est susceptible de sens divers. [glyphs] veut dire briller comme le soleil, être lumineux; les exemples en sont si nombreux qu'il est inutile de les citer; il veut dire briller comme brille tout être revêtu d'un habit magnifique, ou portant une couronne étincelante; les textes d'Abydos qu'on peut à juste titre appeler un Rituel l'emploient fréquemment de bette manière; il veut dire apparaitre comme le fait an dieu qu'on sort de son sanctuaire le jour d'âne fête solennelle; il veut dire enfin apparaitre comme roi, briller comme celui qui porte la couronne royale, arriver au trône. [glyphs] "La première-annee de [p.59] mon règne, j'ordonnai ... etc." nous dit Ramses II, (Abd. I. p. 49). Or comme il pouvait y avoir doute sur l'acception du mot [glyphs] il est tout naturel que les commentateurs aient ajoute leur explication dans le second membre de phrase: Ra dans son apparition ... c'est Ra lorsqu'il apparait comme roi, Ra à son avènement. La réponse à la question limite la signification du mot au sens de règne, avènement au trône. Dans le papyrus de Nebseni l'explication était moins nécessaire, car nous y lisons [glyphs]. Ce mot, variante de [glyphs] signifie la couronne revêtue de l'uraeus, la couronne royale, le diadème.

Qu'est ce que Ra au commencement ... c'est Ra dans son apparition comme roi, au commencement de son règne. Ici, les papyrus thébains sont unanimes, aussi bien ceux que je cite, que ceux dont parle Mr. Lepsius (p. 47). Tous portent: [glyphs] (C) [glyphs] (D) avec de petites variantes graphiques. Aucun ne fait mention d'Heracleopolis, qui n'apparait que dans les textes postérieurs, et surtout hiératiques. Il faut donc croire qu'induit en erreur par le mot [glyphs] un copiste ignorant ou inhabile aura été entraine a écrire [glyphs], et que cette faute se sera transmise depuis lors dans la plupart des textes copies. Cela prouve qu'ä l'époque où le papyrus de Turin et les papyrus hiératiques ont été écrits l'intelligence du texte s'était déjà perdue en grande partie; puisque l'on pouvait laisser passer une faute qui trouble si profondément le sens général de la phrase.

Mais voici la variante la plus importante; je cite tous les textes pour plus de clarté.

A. [glyphs]
B. [glyphs]
C. [glyphs]
D. [glyphs]
E. [glyphs]

Les textes sont formels. Sauf C. dont j'expliquerai plus bas la faute, tous écrivent: lorsqu'il n'y avait point de Setes Su, lorsqu'il n'y avait point de firmament. Ici le papyrus de Turin est seul en faute; les textes hiératiques que j'ai collationnes, dont deux à Londres, un à Berlin et celui de Leyde portent tous la négation [glyphs] que le papyrus de Turin a oubliée.

Lorsqu'il n'y avait pas de firmament; cela suppose que lorsque Ra commença à régner, ciel et terre étaient encore confondus; la masse de Nun existait seule, Ra l'ordonnateur de ce chaos ne parcourait point les régions supérieures du ciel, mais se tenait sur la hauteur d'Amsesennu. Il faut donc que postérieurement à l'apparition de Ra comme roi il y ait eu soulèvement du firmament, séparation du ciel d'avec la terre. Cette simple variante du Livre des morts nous enseigne donc que les Egyptiens avaient comme nous la conception du chaos, c'est à dire d'une masse informe couverte d'eau où ciel et terre n'étaient pas sépares. C'est à ce moment de l'histoire du monde qu'ils plaçaient le règne de Ra.

J'en reviens au texte de C [glyphs] etc. Cette variante qui se lit aussi dans le papyrus hiératique de Berlin que j'ai cite précédemment est une faute facilement explicable. [glyphs] est en effet l'un des noms de la capitale du nome Hermopolitain, de [p.60] la ville de [glyphs]. Le scribe qui voyait quelques mots plus loin qu'il s'agissait de la ville d'Hermopolis [glyphs] a remplace le verbe être [glyphs] par le nom d'[glyphs], d'une prononciation analogue, et qui est le nom de la même ville. Le sens général de la phrase n'en est du reste pas change.*

Je passe sur la lecture de A. [glyphs] qui n'est évidemment qu'une transposition du pronom [glyphs] que n' a aucun autre texte.

[glyphs]. Dans tout autre texte que celui de Nebseni ce mot voudrait dire le dieu d'Amsesennu, mais, comme je l'ai indique ailleurs (Zeitschr. 1873 p. 26), le déterminatif [glyph] est employé dans ce papyrus avec une profusion telle, qu' il est impossible de conclure de sa présence qu'il s'agit d'un personnage divin. Comme l'a fait remarquer M. Lepsius, la préposition [glyphs] fait partie du nom de la localité.

A propos de la variante suivante, je cite de nouveau tous les textes.

A. [glyphs]
B. [glyphs]
C. [glyphs]
D. [glyphs]
E. [glyphs]

Les deux papyrus thébains que Mr. Lepsius cite en note donnent aussi des variantes analogues. Nulle part nous ne trouvons dans les anciens textes le verbe [glyphs] détruire: il s'agit d'un tout autre acte. Je n'insiste pas sur la variante [glyphs] (A). Cet endroit du papyrus de Nebseni est un peu gâte et je ne suis pas parfaitement sur du mot. La traduction de cette phrase serait donc suivant B, C, et D: lorsqu'il plaça les mesu bêtes sur la hauteur d'Amsesennu, et suivant E. lorsqu'il plaça les mesu bêtes comme dieux, en qualité de dieux d'Amsesennu. Ces deux leçons ont beaucoup de rapport entre elles; car placer quelqu'un sur un [glyphs]; c'est, comme le Livre des morts le mentionne ailleurs, lui donner d'être [glyphs] (85. 10); et bien loin de le détruire, c'est plutôt en faire un dieu. Le sens général serait donc: lorsqu'il fit des Mesu bêtes les dieux d'Amsesennu.

Mais qu est ce que les. [glyphs]. Je ne crois pas qu'il faille prendre [glyphs] dans le sens strict de fils; il me semble qu'on peut l'entendre dans un sens figure comme en hébreu בן dans l'expression בן חיל fils de la guerre pour homme belliqueux. Mesu bêtes "les fils de l'impuissance", seraient les inertes, les impuissants par excellence. En effet le sens primitif de [glyphs] s'affaisser, devenir impuissant, être impuissant, paralysé comme l'homme en proie à la terreur (cf. Brugsch dict. p. 446.). Ra fait des impuissants les dieux d'Amsesennu; voilà a quoi nous conduit l'analyse philologique. S'il est permis de s'aventurer un peu dans l'interprétation du symbolisme égyptien, je dirai que les Sesennu, les 8 [p.61] dieux étant suivant Mr. Lepsius les 8 éléments, faire des impuissants les dieux d'Amsesennu, c'est faire naitre ces 8 divinités, c'est changer une matière inerte et impuissante en 8 dieux, c'est distinguer les 8 éléments qui jusqu'alors n'avaient ni énergie ni activité, parce qu'ils faisaient partie du chaos dont nous avons trouve l'existence établie par ce qui précède.

J'espère que ces deux exemples et surtout le premier auront fait ressortir l'intérêt qu'a souvent une simple variante. Si nous voulons jamais arriver à une connaissance un peu exacte de la mythologie égyptienne, il faut remonter aux anciens textes du Livre des morts.

Genève, le 25. Mai 1874. 

Edouard Naville.

______________________
* Malgré la grande beauté de l'écriture et des vignettes, le papyrus de Hunefer ne doit être employé qu'avec prudence surtout à mesure qu'on approche de la fin. Il s'y trouve des variantes curieuses, comme celle-ci: [glyphs] pour [glyphs]. Le petrefsu y est écrit: [glyphs].